The town of Sion ¸ Flanked by two beautiful peals – Valeria and Touribllon, is ofter refered as the city with twin peaks.On top of both the peaks is a castle which lures many a traveller.
The castle Valeria dates back to 1310 , is at present closed for public. The cathedral in the castle is home to a rare gem – An organ dating back to 1390 which is still in playable condition. The castle on the top of Touribllon , built in the 13th century, was the summer residence of the Bishop of Sion.The residence was destroyed in 1788 by a massive fire.Apart from the external walls, most of the castle is in ruins.The place is open for hikers and climbers and provides a great panoramic view of the town of Sion.
Located between the two hills is the All Saint’s chapel, a small Romanesque-Gothic building dating from the 14th century. The medival old town of Sion still has the Witches tower which is probably the last of the stanting towers which were part of the fortification of the old town.
Mid-March to mid-November, from 10.00 to 18.00 (every day)
How to get to the Chateaux:
On foot: take the Rue des Chateaux.
By car: Drive thru the Rue do Loeche, then the Rue du Tunnel, finally take the Rue des Chateaux until you reach the car park.